Tuesday, February 05, 2008

delayed again?

Some of you may have seen this:

Dispute in Guatemala may delay adoptions

Sooo, we a probably looking at a bit more delay.

Right now we have "registered" our in progress adoption. If you're following along, that means we have our "aviso." Now we need the new, arguing, unpaid Central Authority to approve our registration...that will be our "constancia." After that we still have to get the final DNA test & get approved by PGN...those steps are fast (usually). So, who knows...the arguing Central Authority could pull up a folding chair tomorrow & stamp several thousand "avisos"...or they could argue for a good long time.

As you can imagine, we're getting really anxious & frustrated by waiting...it is getting old, old, old and driving us to drink. But at the same time, we knew we were taking our chances when we signed up for Guate. And, although it seems like the Guatemalan authorities are maybe just messing around, they have actually demonstrated that they are committed to moving forward & getting these adoptions finished. So, we think it will finish...just unclear, once again, how soon that might be.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home