We are not very good manual laborers
So, we labored. And then we were so very tired we wanted to die.
But we have a very nice yard to show for it. Well, of course it will look even nicer when the plants grow in, but we did all the terrible, heavy, painful work....sprinklers, raised bed building, gravel & flagstone path creation, shoveling dirt & gravel... all the yucky stuff. So now the tomato & basil & straweberry plants are in the ground, or in the fancy raised beds, and we are looking forward to planting lots more.

Last summer & fall we added the shed and made the dog run end where the house ends. Don't worry, the dogs till have plenty of run. They prefer to stand at the front wondow and bark over running anyway. 

But we have a very nice yard to show for it. Well, of course it will look even nicer when the plants grow in, but we did all the terrible, heavy, painful work....sprinklers, raised bed building, gravel & flagstone path creation, shoveling dirt & gravel... all the yucky stuff. So now the tomato & basil & straweberry plants are in the ground, or in the fancy raised beds, and we are looking forward to planting lots more.
Before: chain link dog run, two feet lower than the rest of the yard. OK, we didn't take very good pictures of it, so it doesn't look that bad here. Use your imagination...chain link fence... dog poo... dog poo smell. Not that lovely.
So this weekend we did a whole bunch more.
During: Mike was a master builder of raised bed walls. I was terrible at it. But I like to think I carried my share of those stupid bricks and did my share of digging up the sprinklers (right Mikey?) which we had too move around.
After: Mikey figured out how to get the new sprinklers for the raised beds installed and on the right zone, we brought the path level way up, reconfigured the lawn area sprinkers so the zeric areas are not getting so much water, put down new grass seed, and of course, got some herbs & veggies into the raised beds. The big dirt area is lawn (low water grass) and the two smaller areas are raised bads for veggies & herbs. Yay.

4 Comments:
I feel like I'm watching HGTV. Nice work - I'm too lazy for that.
Stop doing all of this work and posting pictures. Your going to get me in trouble!
Yeah - good point Jeff. Guess what I did all weekend: planted flower beds and remulched. Thanks Mike and Beth - Thanks a lot. I can't move my back ow.
We like to do our part. We're out of the landscaping business for a while. Can't you guys just use the babies for excuses?
Post a Comment
<< Home