Wednesday, December 12, 2007

that law we've been worrying about...

That new Guatemala adoption law we've been concerned about did pass, but with an amendment to allow 'in progress' adoptions to continue.

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5gIW67GSOP-zwIvoNj0Jo1M1TmWXwD8TFEING3

So, things should work out fine for us & Sara. The only weird new thing to worry about, is that the law says our lawyer in Guate has 30 days to 'register' our adoption as in progress... but there's no place & mechanism in place to actually do this registering. Hmmmm.... so hopefully that won't turn into a big red tape nightmare. Seems like most everyone wants the in progress adoptions to just continue, so we're just going to trust that it'll get worked out.

This will basically end Guatemala's whole private adoption system. Hopefully in the long run, it will be for the best, and maybe eliminate abuses of the system that might have occurred in the past. In the short term though, a lot of kids are still going to be born to parents who can't afford to raise them and it's unclear what will happen to those kids. Nothing very good, I'm afraid.

Thursday, December 06, 2007

this is too funny

yeah, I know...it's adoption again. just had to share this very clarifying flowchart about the guate adoption process....maybe now you know why when people ask me what takes so long or where we are in the process, I just get a look of total confusion on my face. at least Mike seems to know what the heck is going on.

I especially like page 2. that clears things right up.